Downpours


Drip. Drip. Drip. And the raindrops got bigger and bigger until they crashed into the ground.

Can you still remember the last time you went out and get wet under the rain not minding anything? No cellphones malfunctioning, or laptops getting short-circuited? Random thoughts just quickly popped outta my mind while I’m on the jeepney under the heavy rain.

I’ve seen this one FWP (First World Problem) gag wherein kids were whining why their dad bought them the black iPhone instead of the white one, and I was like, “seriously, brat? you’re going loco for the iPhone color and I can’t even afford to buy one [iPhone]!”.  And I thought to myself, it seems like technology’s making living zombies out of the young ones already. It’s supposed to be man using technology, and not the other way around. I can see people getting addicted with phone apps, and I’d be a hypocrite if I say I’m not one of ’em.

But really, ‘balance’ is the way to do it. I’m not against using gadgets nor development of technology. It even creates bridges through communication like SMS or Chat, but it’s also somewhat creating a wall between people in terms of personal interaction. Personal interaction, such as the basic chat or the courting trends. Instead of having fun talking with family or friends, heads are on their phone texting or playing apps. Or instead of enjoying a great concert, everyone’s all there raising their phones and iPads to take a vid out of it (Like hell, there are people watching here at the back ya know?).

Everything that is good becomes bad when in heaps. So next time you take that phone out of your pocket, ask yourself which one is more important: the people in front of you or that dispensable app?

Leave a Reply

