If You Die Today

Image

If you would die today, how will it be?

Would it be gruesome like those who decided to end this life themselves or the ones who went through murder? Would it be as noble and patriotic as the ones who put their lives on the line just to protect their fellowmen? Or would it be as romantic as old people who lived life together and both parting this world while feeling the warm breeze of summer under an old oak tree?

Death has always been a companion of our unconscious mind. We know it’s there. We know it’ll meet us one day. But there’s always the thought that there will be another day; that there will be tomorrow. But what if there’ll never be another tomorrow? Would you be able to say you’ve served your purpose?

I wouldn’t say I’ve already had met my true potential. I’m still young and I can say that I still have a lot of things to live for; my friends, my family, and everyone around me. Yes, I’ve had a lot of mistakes in the past, but that was what has brought me to be the person I have become. I’ve become a collection of people; people that has given me a part of them, and making a person out from these parts. 

If I would die today, I would gladly accept that fate. If I’m happy, you might ask? Yes, I am. Because I know I’ve lived every day and every moment of this life to its fullest; that I might have done stupid things along the way, to which I have learned from its consequences. So yes, I’ll gladly meet our old friend Death, who’s lurking in the trenches of our unconscious mind, and bid this world farewell. It may not be as epic as soldiers battling for freedom, or as amorous as elders growing old together, or as pathetic as those who commit suicide, but I know that it’ll be something that’ll justify my stay on this temporary universe.

So if you were to die today, how do you think it’ll be?

One thought on “If You Die Today

Leave a Reply

